Atlanta Area Council  

Nominations are open for the Whitney M. Young Award

Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award

The purpose of the Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award is to recognize outstanding services by an adult individual or an organization for demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for youth from rural or low-income urban backgrounds—this is in fulfillment of Dr. Young’s dream of justice and equality for all.  

To qualify for the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award, a nominee must have had a significant contribution to the metro-Atlanta community, helping youth in hard to serve neighborhoods.  

This year's honorees include:

  • Ralph Bryant
  • Greg Clay
  • Silvia de la Cruz
  • Kenneth Goggins
  • Willie Holman
  • Janice Jones
  • Valerie McCray
  • Jerry Nix
  • Chad Pannell

Click here to download the nomination form.

Click here to view a list of past honorees.

The Whitney M. Young Awards are presented at a recognition banquet in the fall.  Contact Lindsey Hill for more information.


1800 Circle 75 Parkway SE
Atlanta, GA 30339

phone: 770.989.8820

Hours of Operation:
8:30am - 6:00pm (M-F) 
9:00am - 1:00pm (Sat.)
Closed (Sun.)


1800 Circle 75 Parkway SE
Atlanta, GA 30339

phone: 770.988.9912

Hours of Operation:
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M. (M-F) 
9:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. (Sat.)
Closed (Sun.)